Ansari, Kejriwal among first to cast votes in New Delhi seat

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Ansari, Kejriwal cast their votes
New Delhi, Dec 4: Vice President Hamid Ansari, Aam Admi Party Chief Arvind Kejriwal and Delhi's Chief Electoral Officer Vijay Dev were among the first few to cast their votes in the Delhi Assembly election on Wednesday.

Ansari reached New Delhi constituency's polling booth no 8586 at Nirman Bhavan at around 8:10 am in morning.

He was among the first few citizens to vote at the booth, where other high-profile voters like Congress chief Sonia Gandhi and Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit are to also cast their ballot.

Dikshit, Kejriwal and city BJP chief Vijendra Gupta are among candidates in fray from the New Delhi constituency. Dev exercised his franchise at 8 am at polling booth no 47 at Hanuman Road in the constituency.

Chief EC officer Vijay Dev among the first ones to vote

He was the first voter at the booth. The Chief Electoral Officer hoped that people will vote in large number to create a new record.

"I am confident that people of Delhi will create a new record of polling. There has been huge enthusiasm among the people about the election," he said.

In 2008 assembly polls, the overall voting percentage was 57.58 per cent. Kejriwal voted at the same booth at around 8:15 am. "People of Delhi will win and corruption will be defeated in the election," he told reporters.


Please Wait while comments are loading...