• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

PM Narendra Modi's Swearing-in Ceremony: Date, Time, Venue, Guests– All You Need you to Know


New Delhi, May 28: Rashtrapati Bhavan will host one of its largest gatherings for a single event on Thursday evening where around 5,000-6,000 eminent persons are expected to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Council of Ministers who will take oath on 30 May, for a second term.

All you need to know about Modis swearing-in ceremony

Here's a look at the World Leaders Who Will Attend PM Modi's Swearing-In Ceremony Tomorrow:

  • Leaders of all BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation) countries
  • Member countries of BIMSTEC include Bangladesh, Bhutan, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Thailand besi
  • Bangladesh President Abdul Hamid
  • President of Myanmar U Win Myint
  • Bhutanese Prime Minister Lotay Tshering
  • Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena
  • Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth
  • Kyrgyzstan President Sooronbay Jeenbekov
  • From Thailand Special Envoy Grisada Boonrach and
  • Prime Minister of Nepal K P Sharma Oli

Meanwhile, Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will miss PM Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony for the second time as she will be on a three-nation foreign visit.

Back home, chief ministers and opposition leaders have been invited for the swearing-in ceremony. Didi, who had skipped Modi's big day will be however attending the ceremony this time, as it was her constitutional obligation as chief minister.

Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony: Date, Time and Venue Details:

The ceremony will be held mostly the way it was conducted in 2014. The swearing-in ceremony will be hosted at the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan - the stately path between the main gates and the main building, which is used for the ceremonial reception of visiting heads of state and heads of government.

However, this would be the fourth time a prime minister would take oath at the forecourt instead of the Durbar Hall.

BIMSTEC leaders invited for Modi's swearing-inBIMSTEC leaders invited for Modi's swearing-in

Rashtrapati Bhavan will serve a light dinner for the visiting dignitaries besides high tea after the 7 pm ceremony. Along with the tea, for the vegetarian, they will also serve samosas to Rajbhog and lemon tarts, according to a report by Economic Times.

The major highlight of the dinner, however, will be the signature 'Dal Raisina' that is already being cooked. This speciality of Rashtrapati Bhavan takes 48 hours to cook and the process started on Tuesday night.

Modi's swearing-in ceremony Live Telecast- Where to watch?

Live telecast of the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Council of ministers can be seen on all Doordarshan channels on May 30 from 6.30 pm.

The ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan will also be live streamed on the YouTube channel of Doordarshan.

What had happened in 2014 ceremony?

In 2014, the 6 pm swearing in had guests walking in 4-4:30 pm when the heat was still high. Water bottles were not permitted then due to security considerations.

Modi had invited all SAARC leaders including the then Pakistan prime minister Nawaz Sharif for his swearing-in ceremony, in a major initiative to reach out to the neighbouring countries.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X