AAP's 4th list includes gulail.com journalist Ashish Khetan

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Ashish Khetan
New Delhi, March 10: Ashish Khetan, journalist and founder of gulail.com, which had done a sting operation on Gujarat Police tailing a woman allegedly at the behest of Narendra Modi, has been given ticket by Aam Aadmi Party to contest from New Delhi Lok Sabha seat in the coming election. Khetan's name was among the 61 candidates in AAP's fourth list released by it for the upcoming polls that included former Infosys CFO V Balakrishnan from Bangalore Central.

In the fourth list, the party has announced names of two candidates from Delhi, 39 from Uttar Pradesh four from Haryana, 13 in Karnataka and three in Punjab. In South Delhi, a constituency that has concentration of retired and serving defence personnel, the party has fielded Col Devendra Sehrawat, a former defence personnel. Interestingly, so far, the party has declared candidates for all seven seats of which three worked as journalist, two are academicians while one is a defence personnel and another is a social activist.

Asutosh & Jarnial Singh are other journalists to have got AAP tickets

From Chandani Chowk, the party had fielded journalist Ashutosh and Jarnial Singh, another journalist who hurled a shoe at Union Minister P Chidambaram in 2009, from West Delhi. Rajmohan Gandhi, grandson of Mahatma Gandhi and a noted academician, is in electoral fray from East Delhi while JNU professor Anand Kumar will contest from North-East Delhi.

From North-West Delhi, party has fielded social activist Mahender Singh. Besides Balakrishnan, the Karnataka list includes Nina Nayak from Bangalore South, where former Infosys CEO and UIADI chairman Nandan Nilekani is in fray. The seat is currently held by BJP's general secretary Ananth Kumar.

Candidates for 39 seats have been declared from Uttar Pradesh with prominent being party leader and PAC member Illyas Azmi from Lakhmipur Parliamentary seat. This also includes the Kaushambi and Gautam Buddha Nagar seats, where AAP holds considerable influence. The party has also declared candidates for three seats of Bhiwani, Faridabad and Karnal Parliamentary seats in Haryana. AAP has till now announced candidates for 131 seats across the country.


Please Wait while comments are loading...