• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

80 per cent votes polled in Tripura by-elections


Agartala, June 27: Over 80 per cent turn out was recorded today during voting for by-election to two reserved seats in Tripura passed.

"There was no report of any untoward incident from any part of the two constituencies – Pratapgarh in West Tripura district and Surma in Dhalai district. Vote remained peaceful," SP (police control), Uttam Bhowmick said.

80 pc votes polled in Tripura by-polls

A spokesperson of the state election department here said, more than 80 per cent voters cast their votes for the by-elections today.

An estimated 50,018 voters were eligible to exercise their franchise to decide the fortune of five candidates in the Pratapgarh constituency of West Tripura district, while 42,052 electors would resolve the fate of four aspirants in Surma constituency in Dhalai district.

[TN by-polls: Record 74.4% voter turnout in RK Nagar Assembly constituency]

The Pratapgarh seat fell vacant due to the death of CPI(M) veteran and former minister Anil Sarkar while the by-poll was required for the Surma seat as its sitting MLA Sudhir Das died.

Sarkar won from his constituency for eight times at a stretch since 1978 and Das won the Surma seat on five consecutive occasions since 1993.

The ruling CPI(M), opposition Congress and BJP fielded their candidates and all are hopeful of winning the seats.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more