21 Gun salutes, 700 NCC cadets, Narendra Modi's second I-Day no less special

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, August 14:  Prime Minister Narendra Modi is all set to unfurl the National Flag from the ramparts of the Red Fort on August 15, to mark the 69th Independence Day of the country.

This is the second time Modi will be unfurling the Tricolour after taking over as the Prime Minister last year. He will also address the nation soon after the flag hoisting event.

Independence Day

Two naval officers -- Lieutenant VSSG Rao and Lieutenant Pramod -- will be positioned on either side of the saluting dais for the PM for ADC duties. Lt Commander Deepika Choudhary will assist the PM in unfurling of the National Flag.

Ministry of Defence said that on arrival at Lahori Gate of Red Fort, the PM will be received by Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar, Minister of State for Defence Rao Inderjit Singh and Defence Secretary G Mohan Kumar.

"The Defence Secretary will introduce the General Officer Commanding, Delhi Area, Lt. Gen Rajan Ravindran to the PM. The GoC Delhi Area will then conduct the PM to the Saluting Base where a combined Inter-Services and Police Guards will present general salute to him. Thereafter, the PM will inspect the Guard of Honour," says an official from the MoD.

Guard of Honour contingent

The Guard of Honour contingent for Modi will consist of one officer and 24 men each from Army, Navy, Air Force and the Delhi Police. The Guard of Honour will be positioned directly in front of the National Flag across the moat below the ramparts.

This year, Navy being the coordinating Service, the Guard of Honour will be commanded by Commander Yoginder Sharma of the Indian Navy.

Independence Day

The Army Contingent in the Prime Minister's Guard will be commanded by Major Sumiran Vyas, the Navy contingent by Lt Cdr Chanoraveer Singh Yadav, while Sqn Ldr Shakthi Vigneshwar will lead the Air Force contingent and the Delhi Police contingent by SDPO Shri Rohit Meena.

Chief of the Army Staff General Dalbir Singh, Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha and Chief of Naval Staff Admiral R K Dhowan will also be present to greet the PM.

21 Gun Salute by 871 Field Regiment

The unfurling of the tri-colour will synchronize with the 21 Gun Salute fired by the valiant gunners of the elite 871 Field Regiment. The ceremonial battery will be commanded by Lt Col Aditya Kumar Devrani and the Gun Position Officer will be Regiment Havildar Major (Assistant Instructor in Gunnery) Sonu Yadav.

The National Flag Guard comprising 32 men and one officer each from Army, Navy, Air Force and Delhi Police will present Rashtriya Salute at the time of unfurling of the National Flag by the PM.

Independence Day

The Naval Band will play National Anthem when the National Guard presents ‘Rashritya Salute' while unfurling the National Flag by the Prime Minister. All Service personnel in uniform will stand and salute. The Band will be commanded by S Jankiraman, Master Chief Petty Officer Musician 2nd Class.

700 NCC cadets for I-Day celebrations

Around 700 cadets of the National Cadet Corps (NCC) selected from from 20 schools of Delhi Directorate comprising Army, Navy and Air Force wings are participating in the flag hoisting ceremony this year.

The cadets will take part in the singing of patriotic songs along with the school children. In total, three thousand five hundred girl students from 45 government schools of eastern, north-eastern, northern, north-western, and central zones of Directorate of Education, Government of Delhi will sing the National Anthem.

Independence Day

They will also sing patriotic songs in different regional languages during the celebrations. On this occasion these school children will display the formation of ‘Jai Bharat'.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...