Modi govt 2nd anniversary celebrations: BJP gets ready for 'Mission Uttar Pradesh 2017'

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, May 26: As PM Narendra Modi-led NDA government completes two years of its formation today (Thursday, May 26), the Centre government has organised various mega events to mark the occasion.

In Uttar Pradesh, 45 Central ministers and over a dozen of senior party leaders will gather in the state to commemorate the second anniversary of the Modi government. The Central government will celebrate its second year anniversary in Uttar Pradesh, while keeping in mind that the state is all set to hold assembly elections in 2017.

Modi & Shah

Week-long celebrations in the form of "Vikas Parv" (Development Festival) will take place in Saharanpur district of Uttar Pradesh, besides in other states.

BJP UP spokesperson Vijay Bahadur Pathak said that the main purpose of this event is to highlight the achievements of the Modi government and spread them to the masses.

BJP National president Amit Shah is scheduled to hold rallies till June 10, to mark the second anniversary celebrations.

Amit Shah on Wednesday, May 25 had said the party has not decided if it will project a chief ministerial candidate for the Uttar Pradesh assembly polls next year and that the ruling Samajwadi Party would be the BJP's main rival.

Shah said he was confident of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) coming to power in Uttar Pradesh, adding that "maladministration" of the Samajwadi Party government will be the main issue in the assembly elections.

"The SP is the main challenge in Uttar Pradesh as it has strong base and its cadre is also comparatively staunch," Shah told select group of journalists here at a function to mark two years of the Narendra Modi government at the Centre.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will be in Lucknow and Minister of Road Transport and Highways and Shipping Nitin Gadkari will meet the people of Kanpur. HRD Minister Smriti Irani and BCCI chief Anurag Thakur will hold meetings in Gorakhpur.

Health minister J P Nadda and Labour minister Bandaru Dattatreya will meet people of Varanasi.

Minister of Food Processing Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Minister of state for Railways Manoj Sinha will take charge of Agra.

Other senior BJP leaders who are expected to meet people of Uttar Pradesh in different districts are-- External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, defence minister Manohar Parrikar, Parliamentary Affairs minister Venkaiah Naidu, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Jayant Sinha, Birender Singh and Ramesh Pokhriyal.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...