14 parties meet in Delhi to form Third Front

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
14 parties meet in Delhi to form Third Front
New Delhi, Feb 5: Leaders of 14 non-BJP and non-Congress parties met in Delhi on Wednesday to give formal shape to Third Front, a federal block to evolve a common policy to fight the Congress and BJP.

The immediate goal of these 11 parties is to oppose the UPA government's move to introduce populist measures in the Parliament session which began today.

More details of the meet is awaited.

Among the parties attending the meeting are CPI, CPM, RSP, Forward Block, Samajwadi Party, JD(U), BJD, AIADMK, JVM, JD(S). Three other parties, which will join the upcoming front, do not have a representation in RS and LS.

This meeting would be followed by another one in Delhi on February 9 which will be attended by Bihar CM Nitish Kumar, JD(U) chief Sharad Yadav, Mulayam Singh Yadav, Navin Patnaik, HD Deve Gowda and top Left leaders.

The Bihar chief minister had earlier hinted at an allaince with CPI. ""There is a possibility of alliance with CPI in Bihar. We are focusing on a larger alliance at the national level. This will be a non-Congress and non-BJP front", he had said.

Oneindia news

Please Wait while comments are loading...