• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Bihar Assembly Polls 2010

By Super Admin

Bihar Map
The five-year term of the JD(U)'s Nitish Kumar-led government will come to an end in 2010 as Bihar gears up for elections in 243 Assembly constituencies.
Party 2010 2005
JD(U) + BJP 206 143
RJD + LJP 25 64
Congress 4 9
Others 8 27

The Election Commission of India has decided to hold the 2010 Bihar Assembly polls in six phases. The voting will be held through Oct 21 to Nov 20, 2010. The counting of votes will be held on Nov 24, 2010 and the results are expected on the same day.

News on Bihar Assembly Polls 2010

The usual political battle ahead of the polls has already begun with the main contenders - Janata Dal(United), Congress, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) - exchanging bitter words.

While Congress hopes to single-handedly claim majority, BJP has stitched up an alliance with JD(U). As per the seat sharing formula finalised by the NDA partners for 2010 state elections, JD(U) has 141 seats and BJP 102.

Currently, the JD-U has 81 sitting legislators and the BJP 54. The seat sharing arrangement formulated in 2005 alloted 138 seats to JD(U) while BJP got 103.

The polls are expected to be a closely fought battle between Nitish Kumar's JD(U) and Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD. While Nitish Kumar has no intentions of grabbing the Chief Minister's post again, his political rival and former Chief Minister Lalu Prasad Yadav has been projected as RJD's CM candidate.

Election Schedule in Bihar
Sl. No: Poll Event Date
Phase-1 Phase-2 Phase-3 Phase-4 Phase-5 Phase-6
1. Number of Constituencies 47 45 48 42 35 26
2. Date of Issue of Notification Sep 27 Sep 29 Oct 4 Oct 7 Oct 15 Oct 27
3. Last Date for Nominations Oct 4 Oct 6 Oct 11 Oct 14 Oct 22 Nov 3
4. Date for Scrutiny of Nominations Oct 5 Oct 7 Oct 12 Oct 15 Oct 23 Nov 4
5. Last Date for Withdrawal of Candidature Oct 7 Oct 9 Oct 14 Oct 18 Oct 25 Nov 6
6. Date of Poll, if necessary Oct 21 Oct 24 Oct 28 Nov 1 Nov 9 Nov 20
7. Counting of Votes on Nov 24
8. Date before which the Election shall be Completed Nov 26

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X