CPI-M announces second list for Telangana

Posted By: IANS
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, April 1: The CPI-M on Tuesday announced candidates for 12 assembly seats in Telangana.

The second list announced by the party includes four Muslims.

With this, the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) has announced candidates for 17 assembly seats in Telangana, where the simultaneous elections to assembly and Lok Sabha are scheduled on April 30.

The party last week announced candidates for three Lok Sabha and five assembly seats. It has fielded candidates for Khammam, Nalgonda and Bhongir Lok Sabha seats.

The CPI-M has not entered into alliance with the Communist Party of India (CPI) or any other party in Telangana.

Its Telangana unit president T.Veerabhadram has criticized the CPI, which has almost finalized the poll tie-up with the Congress. He said if the CPI stays away from the Congress, his party was ready to consider support to CPI state secretary Narayana, who plans to contest Lok Sabha election from Khammam.

The CPI-M had earlier announced that it will contest 17 assembly and four Lok Sabha seats in Telangana.

It had contested 2009 elections in alliance with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and the CPI but bagged only one assembly seat in Andhra Pradesh.


Please Wait while comments are loading...