West Bengal Assembly elections 2016: Know the losers

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

While TMC leader Mamata Banerjee may still win in Bhawanipur this year, her counterpart and Left-Congress joint nominee Deepa Munshi may fall flat on her face. But the TMC has nothing to rejoice. Many of its candidates, some of them heavy weights, may meet the same fate.

Among the other prominent leaders who may lose include the ruling party's former heavyweight leader Manish Gupta, the power minister in the present government. Once responsible for beating former chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, he may now lose to CPI(M)'s Sujan Chakraborty from Jadavpur.

West Bengal assembly elections 2016

Abdur Rezzak Mollah in Bhangar is a new entrant, but he had already made his mark by winning in Canning in 2011, flagging the Trinamool flag. He had joined the TMC forced, leaving the left front.

Kalimpong may find Harka Bahadur Chettri losing, who has been pitted against GJM nominee, Sarita Roy. Despite Mamata's support, Chettri may not float the newly-formed Jan Andolan Party this time.

[Read: West Bengal polls 2016: A look at past results (1952-2011)]

On the brighter side, TMC may boast of many others who may show the V-sign. For instance, tourism minister Bratya Basu may win in Dum Dum, defeating CPI(M)'s Palash Das. Subrata Mukherjee, who is the Panchayat minister will also win from Ballygunge. However, education minister Partha Mukherjee may have to struggle a bit in Behala (West) but may sail through. Kolkata mayor Sovan Chatterjee will may defeat Ambikesh Mahapatra in Behala (East).

[Read: Top contest of West Bengal polls 2016: Roopa Ganguly vs Laxmi Ratan Shukla ]

[Read: Top contest of West Bengal polls 2016: Mamata vs Deepa vs Chandra Bose in Bhabanipur]

Please Wait while comments are loading...