• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

States ruled by Congress and BJP after 2016 Assembly polls

Google Oneindia News

After the Congress lost yet two more states, it now has seven states of the Union under its rule while in one, it is in power as a junior partner. The BJP, on the other hand, has come to power in Assam for the first time and with this, its tally of states under its control (alone or jointly) has gone up to eight. The rest of the states are ruled by various regional parties. [Cong has won just 261 of last 2,226 seats]

india map

In the above map: states shown in orange are ruled by the BJP---alone or in coalition; states shown in green are ruled by the Congress---alone or in coalition and those shown in yellow are ruled by none of the two parties.

Here, we take a look at the states of the Union and the parties ruling them at the moment: [Congress, BJP vote-shares]

States Congress BJP Others
Jammu & Kashmir No Yes (along with PDP) -
Punjab No Yes (along with SAD) -
Haryana No Yes -
Himachal Pradesh Yes No -
Uttarakhand Yes No -
Uttar Pradesh No No Samajwadi Party
Rajasthan No Yes -
Delhi No No AAP
Madhya Pradesh No Yes -
Chhattisgarh No Yes -
Gujarat No Yes -
Goa No Yes -
Karnataka Yes No -
Kerala No No LDF
Tamil Nadu No No AIADMK
Telangana No No TRS
Andhra Pradesh No Yes (along with TDP)
Odisha No No BJD
West Bengal No No Trinamool
Jharkhand No Yes -
Bihar Yes (along with RJD, JD(U)) No -
Sikkim No No SDF
Assam No Yes -
Arunachal Pradesh Yes No -
Tripura No No Left Front
Nagaland No Yes (along with NPF) -
Manipur Yes No -
Meghalaya Yes No -
Mizoram Yes No -
Puducherry Yes (along with DMK) No -
Maharashtra No Yes (along with Shiv Sena) -
Total 31 In power alone: 7; jointly: 2 In power alone: 8; jointly 5 In power: 9

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X