Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: SIWALKHAS [GEN]

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: HASANPUR [42]

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

uttar pradesh map

Constituency Name: SIWALKHAS [Comprises KCs 3-Rohta, 4-Jani Khurd, Siwalk has NP of 3-Meerut Tehsil; KC 1-Saroorpur & Karnawal NP of 1-Sardhana Tehsil. ]

Constituency No. 43

  • District: Meerut (Siwalkhas is an Assembly segment under Baghpat Lok Sabha constituency)
  • District Area: 2,559 square kilometres
  • District population: 20,08,7045 (general caste 81.8%; SC 18.01%; ST 0.1%)
  • District literacy: 62.2%
  • District urbanisation: 51.1%

2012 Assembly election result in Siwalkhas

  • Winner: Ghulam Mohammed (SP)
  • Votes received: 58,852
  • Vote percentage:31.28
  • Nearest rival: Yashvir Singh (RLD)
  • Votes: 55,265
  • Percentage:29.37
  • Difference: 3,587
  • Margin %: 1.91
  • Total voters: 2,86,449
  • Turnout: 65.69%
  • Party which won Siwalkhas most number of times: Congress won thrice; SP and BSP once each; BJP never [since 1974]

2014 Lok Sabha result in Baghpat

Satyapal Singh (BJP) defeated Ghulam Mohammed (SP) by 2,09,866 votes (margin% 20.90)

Please Wait while comments are loading...