Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: SHAHABAD

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. [Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls]

OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

UP polls: Know all about Shahbad seat

Constituency Name: Shahabad (GEN)

  • Constituency No. 155 
  • District: Hardoi 
  • Population: 67,661 
  • Overall Literacy: 45%
  • Male literacy: 53%
  • Female literacy: 37%

2012 Assembly election result

  • Winner: Babu Khan (SP) 
  • Votes received: 89,947
  • Nearest rival: Asif Khan (BSP) 
  • Votes: 78,813
  • Difference: 11,134 
  • Margin: 11,134 (5.5%)
  • Total voters: 3, 12,452 
  • Turnout: 64.9 %

Past record of Assembly seat

  • Asif Khan (BSP) defeated Babu Khan (SP) with 4,006 votes in 2007 Assembly polls
  • Ganga Bhakt Singh (BJP) defeated Babu Khan (SP) with 6,350 votes in 2002 Assembly polls.

Hardoi Parliamentary constituency comprises of six Vidhan Sabha segments. These are Sawayazpur, Shahabad, Hardoi, Gopamau, Sandi and pihani.

2014 Lok Sabha result of Hardoi
Anshul Verma (BJP) defeated Shive Prasad Verma (BSP) with 81, 343 votes with margin 4.97 %.

Please Wait while comments are loading...