Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: SANDI

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. [Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls]

UP polls: Know all about Sandi seat

OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Sandi(SC)

  • Constituency No. 158
  • District: Hardoi 
  • Population: 23,233 
  • Overall Literacy: 49% 
  • Male literacy: 56%
  • Female literacy: 41%

2012 Assembly election result 

  • Winner: Rajeshwari (SP) 
  • Votes received: 66,325 
  • Nearest rival: Virendra Kumar (BSP)  
  • Votes : 59,675 
  • Difference: 6,650 
  • Margin: 6,650 (3.8%) 
  • Total voters: 2,96,094 
  • Turnout: 58.7 %

Some facts

  • Sandi is famous for its pedas, mostly for gujiya or milk sweets. Place is also popular for its Bird sanctuary.
  • First election in Sandi assembly constituency was held in 2012 after delimitation came into effect.

2014 Lok Sabha result of Hardoi constituency

  • Hardoi Parliamentary constituency comprises of six Vidhan Sabha segments. These are Sawayazpur, Shahabad, Hardoi, Gopamau, Sandi and pihani
  • Anshul Verma (BJP) defeated Shive Prasad Verma (BSP) with 81, 343 votes with margin 4.97 %.
Please Wait while comments are loading...