Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: SAMBHAL [GEN]

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: ASMOLI [GEN]

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

uttar pradesh map

Constituency Name: SAMBHAL [Comprises KC 5-Sambhal City, PCs 56-Sirsi, 58-Barahi, 59-Nawada, 60-Gumsani, 61-Betla, 62-Fatehulla Ganj, 63-Seedal Mafi, 66-Saindhri, 69-Hazratnagar Garhi, 71-Battva, 72-Basoda, 73-Dondi of 4-Sirsi KC, Sambhal MB & Sirsi NP of 4-Sambhal Tehsil]

  • Constituency No. 33
  • District: Moradabad (Sambhal is an Assembly segment under Sambhal Lok Sabha constituency)
  • District Area: 3,718 square kilometres
  • District population: 47,72,006 (general caste 84.7%; SC 15.3%; ST 0%)
  • District literacy: 47.4%
  • District urbanisation: 33%

2012 Assembly election result in Sambhal

  • Winner: Iqbal Mehmood (SP)
  • Votes received:79,820
  • Vote percentage: 40.7%
  • Nearest rival: Rajesh Singhal (BJP)
  • Votes: 49,773
  • Percentage: 25.4%
  • Difference: 30,047
  • Margin %: 15.32%
  • Total voters: 2,95,475
  • Turnout: 66.39%
  • Party which has won Sambhal most number of times: SP four times; Congress thrice; BJP once; BSP never [since 1951]

2014 Lok Sabha result in Sambhal
Satyapal Singh Saini (BJP) defeated Shafiqur Rahman Barq (SP) by 5,174 vots
(margin% 0.49)

Please Wait while comments are loading...