Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: PURWA

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. [Know constituencies of UP Assembly pol]

OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Know constituencies of UP polls: Purwa

Constituency Name: Purwa (GEN)

  • Constituency No. 167
  • District: Unnao
  • Population of the district: 3,110,595
  • Overall Literacy: 68.29%
  • Sex ratio: 901/1000 2012

Assembly election result

  • Winner: Uday Raj (SP)
  • Votes received: 85,073
  • Nearest rival: Narendra Singh Lodhi (BSP)
  • Votes: 57,172
  • Difference: 27,901
  • Margin: 27,901 (13.4%)
  • Total voters: 3,47,602
  • Turnout: 59.7 %

Purwa comprises of 4-Purwa Tehsil & KC 1- Bichhiya of 3-Unnao Tehsil.

Lok Sabha constituency

  • Purwa assembly seat falls under Unnao LS constituency
  • Unnao comprises of six assembly segments. These are Bangermau, Safipur (SC), Mohan (SC), Unnao, Bhagwant Nagar and Purwa.
  • In 2014 LS poll, BJP's Dr. Sachchidanand Hari Sakshi defeated SP's Arun Shankar Shukla from this seat.

Past results of Purwa Assembly constituency

  • In 2007, Uday Raj (SP) defeated Hirday Narayan Dixit (BJP) with 4,247 votes.
  • In 2002, Udai Raj (SP) defeated Hriday Narayan Dikshit (BJP) with 9,917 votes.
Please Wait while comments are loading...