Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: MODI NAGAR [GEN]

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: GHAZIABAD [56]

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

uttar pradesh map

Constituency Name: MODI NAGAR [Comprises KCs 1-Modi Nagar, 2-Bhojpur, 4-M
odi Nagar MB, Faridnagar NP, 7-Patla NP & 8-Niwari NP of 1-Modi Nagar Tehsil]

Constituency No. 57

  • District: Ghaziabad (Modi Nagar is an Assembly segment under Baghpat Lok Sabha constituency)
  • District Area: 1,179 square kilometres
  • District population: 46,81,645 (general caste 83.4%; SC 16.5%; ST 0.1%)
  • District literacy: 66.7%
  • District urbanisation: 67.6%

2012 Assembly election result in Modi Nagar

  • Winner: Sudesh Sharma (RLD)
  • Votes received: 58,635
  • Vote percentage: 33.08
  • Nearest rival: Rajpal Singh (BSP)
  • Votes: 44,686
  • Percentage: 25.21
  • Difference: 13,949
  • Margin %: 7.87
  • Total voters: 2,83,131
  • Turnout: 62.61
  • Party which won Modi Nagar most number of times: Congress won four times; BJP won thrice; BSP won once; SP never [since 1957]

2014 Lok Sabha result in Baghpat

Satyapal Singh (BJP) defeated Ghulam Mohammed (SP) by 2,09,866 votes (margin% 20.90)

Please Wait while comments are loading...