Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: MAINPURI

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government.

In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. [Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls]


OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Mainpuri (Gen)

  • Constituency No. 107
  • District: Mainpuri
  • District Area: 2,745 sq km
  • District population: 133,078 [Males- 69,788; Females- 63,290]
  • District literacy: 85.66%

2012 Assembly election result in Mainpuri

  • Winner: Rajkumar aias Raju Yadav (SP)
  • Votes received: 54,990
  • Vote percentage: 32.94
  • Nearest rival: Rama Shakya (BSP)
  • Votes: 40,781
  • Percentage: 24.43
  • Difference: 14,209
  • Margin: 8.5%
  • Total voters: 2,90,690
  • Turnout: 57.4 %

First election in Mainpuri was held in 1952 after the delimitation order was passed in 1951.

2014 Lok Sabha result in Mainpuri

Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav defeated BJP candidate Shatrughan Singh Chauhan by 3,64,666 votes and by a margin of 36.49%.

About Mainpuri district

Mainpuri district tehsils (5)-- Bhongaon, Ghiror, Karhal, Kishni, Mainpuri

Extant of Mainpuri Assembly constituency is KCs-- Kurawali, Mainpuri, Kuraoli NP, Jyoti Khuria NP & Mainpuri of Mainpuri Tehsil.

Mainpuri is a part of Agra division in Uttar Pradesh. The distance between Mainpuri and New Delhi is 270 kms. Mainpuri forms part of ancient legendary region of Lord Krishna's land called Braj.

In Mainpuri, 35% of the 12.3 lakh voters are Yadavs, who are the most dominant caste The other dominant castes in Mainpuri are the Shakya, Rajputs, Bhrahmins, SCs and Muslims.

Please Wait while comments are loading...