Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: KANTH [GEN]

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: NOORPUR [24]

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Kanth [Comprises Kanth Teshil; PCs Baheri Brahmanan, Adampur, Salem Sarai, Maksoodpur of Jatpura KC, PCs Sadarpur, Milak Amawati, Kazipura, Gakkharpur, Mustafapur of Dilari KC of Thakurdwara Teshil & KC Pakbara of Moradabad Teshil]

  • Constituency No. 25
  • District: Moradabad (Kanth is an Assembly segment under Moradabad Lok Sabha constituency)
  • District Area: 3,718 square kilometres
  • District population: 47,72,006 (general caste 84.7%; SC 15.3%; ST 0%)
  • District literacy: 47.4%
  • District urbanisation: 33%

2012 Assembly election result in Kanth

  • Winner: Aneesurrehaman (Peace Party)
  • Votes received: 37,092
  • Vote percentage: 18.48%
  • Nearest rival: Rizwan Ahmad Khan (BSP)
  • Votes: 35,558
  • Percentage: 17.72%
  • Difference: 1,534
  • Margin %: 0.76
  • Total voters: 3,02,267
  • Turnout: 66.41%
  • Party which has won Noorpur most number of times: Congress has won thrice; BSP twice; BJP once; SP never [since 1957]

2014 Lok Sabha result in Moradabad
Kunwar Sarvesh Kumar Singh (BJP) defeated Dr S T Hasan (SP) by 87.504 votes (margin% 7.7)

Please Wait while comments are loading...