Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: JEWAR [GEN]

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: DADRI [62]

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

uttar pradesh map

Constituency Name: JEWAR [Comprises 3-Jewar Tehsil; KCs 2-Dankaur, 3-Bilaspur, Bilaspur NP & Dankaur NP of 2-Gautam Budh Nagar Tehsil]

Constituency No. 63

  • District: Gautam Buddha Nagar (Jewar is an Assembly segment under Gautam Buddha Nagar Lok Sabha constituency)
  • District Area: 1,282 square kilometres
  • District population: 16,48,115 (general caste 86.8%; SC 13.1%; ST 0.1%)
  • District literacy: 68.1%
  • District urbanisation:59.1%

2012 Assembly election result in Jewar

  • Winner: Vedram Bhati (BSP)
  • Votes received: 67,524
  • Vote percentage: 37.82
  • Nearest rival: Dhirendra Singh (Congress)
  • Votes: 58,024
  • Percentage: 32.5
  • Difference: 9,500
  • Margin %: 5.32
  • Total voters:2,87,711
  • Turnout: 62.05
  • Party which won Jewar most number of times: Congress, BJP and BSP thrice each; SP never [since 1957]

2014 Lok Sabha result in Gautam Buddha Nagar

Mahesh Kumar Sharma (BJP) defeated Narendra Bhati (SP) by 2,80,212 votes (margin% 23.36)

Please Wait while comments are loading...