Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: CHANDPUR [GEN]

Written By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: BIJNOR [22]

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Know UP constituencies: CHANDPUR

Constituency Name: Chandpur

[Comprises KCs Chandpur, Basta, PCs Aurangabad, Azamgarh Urf Ratangarh, Azampur, Dharupur, Dhundli, Govli, Heempur Bujurg, Jujhaila, Majhaula Gujar, Murahat, Phoona, Yusufa of Phoona KC & Chandpur MB of Chandpur Tehsi]

  • Constituency No. 23
  • District: Bijnor (Chandpur is an Assembly segment under Bijnor Lok Sabha constituency
  • District Area: 4,561 square kilometres 
  • District population: 36,82,713 (general caste 78.5%; SC 21.4%; ST 0.1%) 
  • District literacy: 58% District urbanisation: 25.1% 

2012 Assembly election result in Bijnor

  • Winner: Iqbal (BSP)
  • Votes received: 54,941
  • Vote percentage: 29.20%
  • Nearest rival: Shairbaz Khan (SP)
  • Votes: 39,928
  • Percentage: 21.22%
  • Difference: 15,013
  • Margin %: 7.98
  • Total voters: 2,78,379
  • Turnout: 67.60%
  • Party which has won Bijnor most number of times: Congress, BJP and BSP once each [since 1957] 

2014 Lok Sabha result in Bijnor

Kunwar Bhartendra Singh (BJP) defeated Shahnawaz Rana (SP) by 2,05,794 votes (margin% 19.41)

Please Wait while comments are loading...