Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: BHOJIPURA

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government.

In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. [Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls]

UP polls: Know Bhojipura constituency

OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Bhojipura

  • Constituency No. 120
  • District: Bareilly
  • District Area: 4,120 sq km
  • District population: 4,448,359
  • District literacy: 60.52%

2012 Assembly election result in Bhojipura

  • Winner: Shazil Islam Ansari [Ittehad-e-Millat Council]
  • Votes received: 65,531
  • Vote percentage: 32.55%
  • Nearest rival: Virendra Singh Gangwar (SP)
  • Votes: 47,583
  • Percentage: 23.63%
  • Difference: 17,948
  • Margin: 8.92%
  • Total voters: 289,427
  • Turnout: 201,327 (69.56%)

First election in Bhojipura constituency was held in 1957 after the delimitation order was passed in 1956.

Extant of Bhojipura Assembly constituency is KC Shergarh, Devraniya NP & Shergarh NP of Baheri Tehsil; KCs Bhojipura, Rithora, CB Ganj, Rithora NP, Dhaura Tanda NP & Pipalsana Chaudhdhari (CT) of Bareilly Tehsil.

2014 Lok Sabha result in Bareilly

Santosh Kumar Gangwar (BJP) defeated Ayesha Islam (SP) by 240,685 votes and by a margin of 23.8%.

Bareilly Lok Sabha constituency comprises of 5 legislative assembly segments-- Bareilly, Bareilly Cantt, Bhojipura, Meerganj and Nawabganj.

Please Wait while comments are loading...