Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: BALAMAU

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. [Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls]

UP polls: Know all about Balamau seat

OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Balamau (SC)
Constituency No. 160
District: Hardoi
Population of district: 4,091,380
Overall Literacy: 68.89%
Sex ratio: 856/1000

2012 Assembly election result

  • Winner: Anil Verma (SP)
  • Votes received: 67,800
  • Nearest rival: Rampal Verma (BSP) 
  • Votes: 67,627
  • Difference: 173 
  • Margin: 173 (0.1%)
  • Total voters: 3, 23,909
  • Turnout: 54.7%

About Balamau 

  • Ancient town, Balamau falls in Sandila tehsil of Hardoi district , UP.
  • It is being believed that the town was founded towards the end of the reign of Akbar by Bami Mirmi. 
  • Balamau contains an average population of 40,000 with a sex ratio of almost 1.
  • Agriculture and small scale business firms are the main occupation of people of this town.

Some more info

  • Balamau Assembly comprises of KCs 1-Kallyanmal, 5-Behandar, 6-Balamau, Beniganj NP, Kachhona NP & Som (CT) of 5-Sandila Tehsil.
  • In 2012, Assembly seat went for poll first time after delimitation.
Please Wait while comments are loading...