Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: NOORPUR [GEN]

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: CHANDPUR [23]

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

up map

Constituency Name: Noorpur [Comprises KC Boodhpur, PCs Haizarpur Bhatt, Mahamdabad, Paijaniya, Shivala, Nayak Nangla, Sujatpur Tikar, Khaspura, Umribarhi, Chajupura & Chehla of Phoona KC & Noorpur MB of Chandpur Tehsil; KC Sahaspur, PCs Budhanpur, Kuri Bangar, Lamba Khera, Moh. Alipur Inayat, Pithapur, Sadafal of Seohara KC & Sahaspur NP of Dhampur Tehsil ]

  • Constituency No. 24
  • District: Bijnor (Noorpur is an Assembly segment under Nagina Lok Sabha constituency)
  • District Area: 4,561 square kilometres
  • District population: 36,82,713 (general caste 78.5%; SC 21.4%; ST 0.1%)
  • District literacy: 58%
  • District urbanisation: 25.1%

2012 Assembly election result in Noorpur

  • Winner: Lokendra Singh (BJP)
  • Votes received: 47,566
  • Vote percentage: 26.94%
  • Nearest rival: Mohammad Usman (BSP)
  • Votes: 42,093
  • Percentage: 23.84%
  • Difference: 5,473
  • Margin %: 3.10
  • Total voters: 2,69,545
  • Turnout: 65.51%
  • Party which has won Noorpur most number of times: Congress and BJP once each; SP and BSP never [Noorpur constituency ceased to exist after 1976 and created again in 2008]

2014 Lok Sabha result in Nagina
Yaswant Singh (BJP) defeated Yashvir Singh (SP) by 92,390 votes (margin% 9.8)

Please Wait while comments are loading...