Karnataka: Kanakapura Vidhansabha Constituency

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kanakapura is a town and the headquarters of Kanakapura Taluk in the Ramanagar district. Kanakapura is located 55 kms from state capital Bengaluru. Kanakapura is famous for the production of silk and granite. Mekedatu, Chunchi falls and Bilikal Rangaswamy Betta are famous tourist spots in Kanakapura. Mekedatu is a location along river Kaveri in Kanakapura Taluk. Sangama is the place where Arkavati merges with Kaveri. From this point, about 3.5 kilometers downstream, the river Kaveri flows through a deep and narrow gorge. Mekedatu' means 'goat's leap'.

Karnataka: Kanakapura Vidhansabha Constituency

Congress party's D K Shivkumar is the current MLA from Kanakapura assembly constituency. Shivkumar defeated Janata Dal (Secular)'s P.G.R. Sindhia by 31,424 votes in 2013. Shivkumar has held Kanakapura assembly seat since 2008.

OneIndia News

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.