• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka Elections: Virajpet Assembly Constituency

By Oneindia Staff Writer

It is a small town of importance for the local coffee and spice crops. Nearby towns are Gonikoppal, Ammathi and Ponnampet. Virajpet is around 30 km away from Madikeri, the district headquarter.

Karnataka Elections: Virajpet Assembly Constituency

Named after the former ruler of Kodagu, Virarajendra, Virajpet is the second town of the Kodagu district. Haleri King Dodda Virarajendra founded the town in 1792. The Gangas, the Kadambas, the Chalukyas, the Cholas, the Hoysalas, the Rastrakutas and the Vijaynagar Rayas also ruled the region. Town is famous for huge plantations of local coffee and spice crops. It is the largest honey producer in Asia.

Kodagu is rated as one of the top hill station destinations in India. Some of the most popular tourist attractions in Kodagu include Talakaveri, Bhagamandala, Nisargadhama, Dubare, Nagarahole National Park, Iruppu Falls, and the Tibetan Buddhist Golden Temple.

BJP candidate Bopaiah K G is the current MLA and he defeated Biddatanda T Pradeep of Congress.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more