• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka Elections: Narasimharaja Assembly Constituency

By Oneindia Staff Writer

Narsimaharaja constituency is part of Mysore district. Mysore district has 11 assembly constituencies and Narsimaharaja is one among them. Mysore corporation ward numbers 44 to 60, 64 and 65 fall under this constituency.

The name Mysore is an anglicized version of Mahishūru, which means the abode of Mahisha in the vernacular Kannada.

Karnataka Elections: Narasimharaja Assembly Constituency

The common noun Mahisha, in Sanskrit, means buffalo; in this context, however, Mahisha refers to Mahishasura, a mythical daemon who could assume the form of both human and buffalo, who, according to Hindu mythology, ruled the ancient parts of Mysore Kingdom knows, in Sanskrit, as Mahíšhaka, centred at Mahishapura.

He was killed by the Goddess Chamundeshwari, whose temple is situated atop the Chamundi Hills, after whom it is named. 'Mahishapura' later became Mahisūru (a name which, even now, the royal family uses), and finally came to be anglicized as Mysore by the British and Mysuru in the vernacular Kannada language.

Tanveer Sait from the Congress is the current MLA and he defeated Abdul Majid K H of SDPI.

OneIndia News


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more