India's LARGEST EVER political poll. Have you participated yet?
  • search

Karnataka elections: Nagthan Assembly constituency

By Oneindia Staff Writer
Subscribe to Oneindia News
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    Nagathan is a village in the Bijapur district of North Karnataka. Nagathan is located 17 km from district headquarters Bijapur. It is a reserved constituency for Scheduled Caste.

    Karnataka elections: Nagthan Assembly constituency

    There is a belief among the people that, cobras resided in groups at this place. That is how this village has come to be known as Nagathan. In this village, there are three famous temples - Birasidswer, Udayaswer and Mallikarjun Swamy.

    Nagathan has basic infrastructure with a primary school, a government hospital, a high school and a PU college. Agriculture is the main livelihood for most of the families with crops such as jawar, wheat, cotton, dunflower being grown.

    Congress party's Raju Alagur is the current MLA from this constituency. In 2013 Karnataka Assembly elections, Alagur defeated Janata Dal (Secular)'s Devanand Phulsing Chavan by 667 votes.

    OneIndia News

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more