• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka elections: Chikkaballapur Assembly constituency

By Oneindia Staff Writer

Chikkaballapur is the district headquarters of the newly created Chikkaballapura district in Karnataka. However the name Chikka means 'small', while 'balla' means the measure to quantify food grains, and 'pura' means "town". Thus, it is a place where people used to use small measures to quantify the food grains in ancient times. The place is also famous Nandi Hills which is nearby and within the jurisdiction of Chikkaballapura district.

Karnataka elections: Chikkaballapur Assembly constituency

It is located within 3 km of Muddenahalli (the birthplace of eminent engineer and statesman Sir Mokshagundam Visvesvarayya). It is a regional transport and educational hub, and is a major site for grape, grain, and silk cultivation. With recent development, it is widely believed that Chikkaballapura will become part of Greater Bangalore. "Vidurashwattha" is in Gauribidanur taluk on the lands of river Pinakini. "Vidurashwattha" is famous for its temple. It is also called as Mini Jaliyanwalabagh.

The current MLA is Dr K Sudhakar who is from INC. He won against KP Bachegowda of JDS.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more