• search

Karnataka Elections: Chamundeshwari Assembly Constituency

By Oneindia Staff Writer
Subscribe to Oneindia News
For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    Chamundeshwari constituency falls under Mysore district. Mysore district has 11 assembly constituencies and Chamundeshwari is one among them.

    Karnataka Elections: Chamundeshwari Assembly Constituency

    This constituency has Elwala, Kasaba, Jayapura Circles, Mysore corporation ward No 19. The constituency is located in the foothills of the Chamundi Hills and is famous for Hindu temple of Goddess Chamundeshwari. It is considered as a Shakti Peetha and one among the 18 Maha Shakti Peethas. It is known as Krouncha Pitham as the region was known in Puranic times as Krouncha Puri. The deity is held in reverence for centuries by Mysore Maharajas.

    Politically speaking, Chamundeshwari constituency gave political birth to the current Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah. Though he moved to Varuna Constituency 2008, he has the emotional attachment with the place. Siddaramaiah represented Chamundeshwari in 1983, 1985, 1994, 2004 and won the by-poll in 2006. G.T. Deve Gowda from JDS is the sitting MLA and he defeated M. Sathyanarayana of Congress.

    OneIndia News

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more