• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka Elections: Bantval Assembly Constituency

By Oneindia Staff Writer

Bantwal town is a town in Mangalore district. Some communities call it as 'Vatapura Kshetra'. Bantwal actual meaning is Banta Wala. Banta (Bunts) is a economically and politically dominant community in Managlore district.

Karnataka Elections: Bantval Assembly Constituency

Previously, the town of Bantwal was known for trade with the Persian Gulf states, being so close to Mangalore. However, flooding caused by the river Netravathi during the monsoons compelled traders and newer settlements to move to the adjacent city of B.C. Road due to its higher altitude. Gradually, most Government offices shifted to B.C. Road.

The Grama Panchayats in Bantwal taluk are Golthamajalu, Kolnadu, Sajipa Muda, Kurnadu, Maani, Navooru, Pudu, Sangabettu, Maavinakatte, Sarapady, Thumbe, Veerakumba and Vittla (Vittal).

Tulu is the main language, the town also has Konkani and Beary speaking population. The town is still considered an important trade center for groceries, tobacco, hardware and gold.

B.Ramanatha Rai of Congress is the current MLA and he defeated Rajesh Naik Ulipady of BJP.

OneIndia News


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more