Ashoka Chakra on made in India Gold coins is well thought of

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched the first Gold coin minted in India, bearing the national emblem-the Ashok Chakra on one side and Mahatma Gandhi's image on the other side.

A symbolical gesture for a long-term beginning and hope for the Indian economy. While it is not unknown what Mahatma Gandhi represents and why? The Ashoka Chakra inscription has more than one implications.

gold scheme

Adopted from the Buddhist 'Dharmachakra', the Ashoka Chakra has 24 spikes which represent the following:

  • The 24 precious hours in a day
  • 24 Dharam Rishis of the Hindu rligion who created the most powerful Gayatri Mantra
  • The number has a great significance in the Puranas

The chakra has trong inclinations toward Buddhist teachings and has been clearly adopted by Emperor Ashoka from Buddha's disciples. The Chakra was used on top of his pillar, later making the base of the chakra in the national flag. In fact, the ashok Chakra indicates strong bonds of the nation with the Buddhist faith.

Incidentally, 12 of the 24 spokes indicate the teachings of Lord Buddha and the other 12 are paired with their equivalent symbols such as:

Avidya (means lack of knowledge), Samskara (means a shaper), Vijnana (means consciousness), Namarupa (means name and form), Sadayatana (means six senses like ear, eye, tongue, nose, body, and mind), Sparsa (means contact), Vedana (means pain), Trsna (means thirst), Upadana (means grasp), Bhava (means coming to be), Jati (means being born), Jaramarana (means old age) and death.

The 24 spokes also represent the meaning of life Love, Courage, Patience, Peacefulness, Magnanimity, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness, Selflessness, Self-Control, Self Sacrifice, Truthfulness, Righteousness, Justice, Mercy, Gracefulness, Humility, Empathy, Sympathy, Spiritual Knowledge, Moral Values, Spiritual Wisdom, The Fear of God and Faith (Belief or Hope).

Please Wait while comments are loading...