• search
For Puducherry Updates
Allow Notification  

Big Winners and Losers in the Assembly Elections 2016

By Lisa
Google Oneindia News

Assembly Elections 2016 did not bring much to cheer for the Grand Old Party Congress but for the fact that their alliance with DMK will form next government in the Union Territory of Puducherry.

Mamata Banerjee won West Bengal Assembly Election hands down and Trinamool Congress mercilessly crushed all opposition in the state. The record breaking win of 'didi' ensured many big names from other parties in the state lost.

assembly election 2016

J Jayalalithaa too created a history by beating anti incumbency and retaining power in Tamil Nadu. It is for the first time since 1984 that Tamil Nadu has voted same party to power in second successive term. All those exit polls that predicted DMK win were proven wrong.

Kerala continued with the predictable win for the Left as historically Kerala has been voting to power for one term UDF and the next term LDF. However, BJP made some inroads in the state for the first time. This will sure give saffron party something to cheer.

The biggest loss for Congress was Assam which they gave away to BJP. Assam win is very important for BJP as it gives BJP an opportunity to make inroads in the North Eastern states which have conventionally never voted for the centre to right thinking party.

Here is the list of big winners and losers in each of the four states and one union territory where counting was conducted today:


BJP's Himanta Biswa Sarma defeats nearest Congress rival in Jalukbari
AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal loses from Salmara South constituency
BJP candidate Hitendra Nath Goswami wins from Jorhat constituency
Congress candidate Abdul Hai Nagori wins from Abhayapuri North constituency
BJP candidate Sanjoy Kishan wins Tinsukia constituency
Bodoland People's Front candidate Maneswar Brahma wins from Barama constituency
Outgoing Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi wins from Titabar constituency

West Bengal

Trinamool candidate Bhaichung Bhutia was defeated from Siliguri
Abdur Rezzaq Mollah wins from Bhangar
CPI(M)'s Surjya Kanta Mishra loses from Narayangarh
Tainted TMC leader Madan Mitra loses from Kamarhati
BJP's Roopa Ganguly loses from Howrah North
TMC's Laxmi Ratan Shukla wins
TMC's Mahua Moitra wins Karimnagar constituency in Nadia

Tamil Nadu

DMK president M. Karunanidhi wins by a huge margin in Tiruvarur
MK Stalin wins bin Kolathur
AIADMK's Sarathkumar loses to DMK's Anitha Radhakrishnan in Tiruchendur
DMK candidate M.P.Giri wins from Chengam
DMK's Stalinkumar wins from Thuraiyur
Jayalalithaa wins RK Nagar constituency
AIADMK's E.Rathina Sabapathy wins from Aranthangi
Kathirkamu wins from Periyakulam
AIADMK's Natham Vishwanathan loses
DMK's I.Periyasamy wins from Athoor


Aryadan Shoukat loses in Nilambur
Former CM Karunakaran's daughter Padmaja loses, son Muraleedharan wins
Actor-turned-politician Mukesh wins
UDF candidate in Kochi, Dominic Presentation loses
Outgoing Kerala Home Minister Ramesh Chennitala wins Haripad
Outgoing Kerala CM Oommen Chandy wins Puthupally
M Vincent wins in Kovalam
Sobha Surendran loses in Palakkad
KS Sabarinathan of Congress wins against AA Rasheed of CPI(M) in Aruvikkara constituency
Kadannappalli Ramachandran wins in Kannur
Journalist MV Nikesh Kumar loses
K Muraleedharan wins in Vattiyoorkavu


AINRC's Rangasamy out going Chief Minister, won Indira Nagar constituency
AIADMK's Vaiyapuri Manikandan won Muthialpet
V. Vizeavany of Congress wins from Nettapakkam constituency
Congress candidate K. Lakshminarayanan won the Raj Bhawan seat
PCC leader A Namassivayam declared winner from Villanur constituency
Congress candidate M.O.H.F. Shahjahan won Kalapet
B. Kobiga of AINRC was declared winner from Thirubhuvanai
AIADMK's K. A. U. Asana declared winner in Karaikal South
Villianur constituency was won by A. Namassivayam

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X