Bihar polls 2010: 1st phase begins on Oct 21

Posted By: Nitsi
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bihar assembly
Patna, Oct 21: The first of the six phases of the Bihar state Assembly elections has began on Thursday, Oct 21 in which 47 of 243 constituencies go to polls.

Sources said security personnel were put on a high alert in areas of Modhwapur, Khutauni, Fulparas and Laukaha so that the elections are free, fair and peaceful.

Similarly, a special watch is being kept in Supaul, Purnia, Kishanganj and Araria districts since this morning with specially-trained dogs mobilised for the purpose.

"Over 45,000 personnel of the Central paramilitary forces have been made available by the Centre for free, fair and peaceful polls," a senior official in the home department said.

Here is a  file of the first phase:

Number of assembly constituencies - 47

Total number of candidates - 631

Total number of woman candidates - 52

Party-wise list of candidates - Bahujan Samaj Party (45), Bharatiya Janata Party (21), Communist Party India (11), Communist Party of India-Marxist (7), Congress (47), Nationalist Congress Party (33), Janata Dal-United (26), Rashtriya Janata Dal (31) and other parties 156.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...