Phase 8 of LS election: 2009 results in UP, Uttarakhand seats

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, May 3: Here are the look at the 2009 results in 15 constituencies in Uttar Pradesh and 5 constituencies in Uttarakhand that will go to the polls in the eighth phase of the Lok Sabha election on May 7.

[See constituencies of West Bengal, Bihar, J&K and Himachal in Phase 8 election]

[See 2009 results in Seemandhra]


Constituencies: 15

Amethi: In 2009, Congress's Rahul Gandhi defeated BSP's Asheesh Shukla by 3,70,198 votes (difference in vote-share was 57.2%)

Sultanpur: In 2009, Congress's Sanjay Singh defeated BSP's Mohammad Tahir by 98,779 votes (difference in vote-share was 14%)

Pratapgarh: In 2009, Congress's Rajkumari Ratna Singh defeated BSP's Prof. Shivakant Ojha by 29,779 votes (difference in vote-share was 4.6%)

Kaushambi (SC): In 2009, SP's Shailendra Kumar defeated BSP's Girish Chandra Pasi by 55,789 votes (difference in vote-share was 10.1%)

Phulpur: In 2009, BSP's Kapil Muni Karwariya defeated SP's Shyama Charan Gupta by 14,578 votes (difference in vote-share was 2.6%)

Allahabad: In 2009, SP's Raman Singh defeated BSP's Ashok Kumar Bajpai by 34,920 votes (difference in vote-share was 6.3%)

Faizabad: In 2009, Congress's Nirmal Khatri defeated SP's Mitrasen by 54,228 votes (difference in vote-share was 7.2%)

Ambedkar Nagar: In 2009, BSP's Rakesh Pandey defeated SP's Shankhlal Majhi by 22,736 votes (difference in vote-share was 2.8%)

Bahraich (SC): In 2009, Congress's Kamal Kishor defeated BSP's Lal Mani Prasad by 38,953 votes (difference in vote-share was 7.6%)

Kaiserganj: In 2009, SP's Brijbhushan Sharan Singh defeated BSP's Surendra Nath Awasthi by 72,199 votes (difference in vote-share was 12.8%)

Shrawasti: In 2009, Congress's Vinay Kumar defeated BSP's Rizvan Zaheer by 42,029 votes (difference in vote-share was 6.9%)

Gonda: In 2009, Congress's Beni Prasad Verma defeated BSP's Kirti Vardhan Singh by 23,675 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.9%)

Sant Kabir Nagar: In 2009, BSP's Bhisma Shankar defeated BJP's Sharad Tripathi by 29,496 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.7%)

Bhadohi: In 2009, BSP's Gorkahnath defeated SP's Chhotelal Bind by 12,963 votes (differebce in vote-share was 2%)

Basti: In 2009, BSP's Arvind Kumar Chowdhary defeated SP's Raj Kishor Singh by 1,05,210 votes (difference in vote-share was 13.6%)

In 2009, out of the 15 seats in UP that will go to the polls on May 7, the Congress had won 7, the BSP had won 5 and the SP had won 3 seats.


Constituencies: 5

Tehri Garhwal: In 2009, Congress's Vijay Bahuguna defeated BJP's Jaspal Rana by 52,939 votes (difference in vote-share was 9%)

Garhwal: In 2009, Congress's Satpal Maharaj defeated BJP's Lt. Gen(Retd) Tejpal Singh Rawat by 17,397 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.2%)

Almora (SC): In 2009, Congress's Pradeep Tamta defeated BJP's Ajay Tamta by 6,950 votes (difference in vote-share was 1.4%)

Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar: In 2009, Congress's KC Singh Baba defeated BJP's Bachi Singh Rawat by 88,412 votes (difference in vote-share was 11.7%)

Hardwar: In 2009, Congress's Harish Rawat defeated BJP's Swami Yatindranand Giri by 1,27,412 votes (difference in vote-share was 16.2%)

In 2009, the Congress had won all the 5 seats in Uttarakhand that are going to polls on May 7.

Oneindia News

[Inputs from]

Please Wait while comments are loading...