Know your state this LS poll: Kerala

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Know your state this LS poll: Kerala
Bangalore, March 28: The Lok sabha election is set to begin on April 7 and will continue till May 12. The results will be declared on May 16. The election will see elections to 543 parliamentary seats across 28 states and seven Union territories (UT).

OneIndia brings to you the poll statistics from each state and UT of the Union.


Election date: April 10

[Know your states this LS poll]

Number of Lok Sabha constituencies: 20

Name of the constituencies: Alappuzha, Alathur (SC), Attingal, Chalakudi, Ernakulam, Idukki, Kannur, Kasaragod, Kollam, Kottayam, Kozhikode, Malappuram, Mavelikkara (SC), Palakkad, Pathanamthitta, Ponnani, Thiruvananthapuram, Thrisssur, Vadakara, Wayanad

2009 result (seats): Congress 13, IUML 2, KC(M) 1, CPI(M) 4

2009 party-wise vote-share:

Total voters this year: 2.42 crore (24.2 million)

Polling booths: 21,424

First-time voters: 4 lakh (0.4 million)

Fact: Five Union ministers of the Congress are contesting from Kerala this year. They are: Shashi Tharoor (Thiruvananthapuram), KV Thomas (Ernakulam), Mullapally Ramchandran (Bhatkara), K Suresh (Mavelikkara) and KC Venugopal (Alappuzha)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...