Know your state this LS poll: Jharkhand

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, April 10: The Lok sabha election has begun on on April 7 and will continue till May 12.

The results will be declared on May 16.

The election will see elections to 543 parliamentary seats across 28 states and seven Union territories (UT). OneIndia brings to you the poll statistics from each state and UT of the Union.


Election: April 10, 17, 24

[Know your states]

Number of Lok Sabha constituencies: 14

Name of the constituencies: Chatra, Dhanbar, Dumka (ST), Giridih, Godda, Hazaribagh, Jamshedpur, Khunti (ST), Kodarma, Lohardaga (ST), Palamau (SC), Rajmahal (ST), Ranchi, Singhbhum (ST)

2009 result (seats): BJP 8, JMM 2, Congress 1, JVM(P) 1, Indepedent 1

2009 party-wise vote-share:

Total voters this year: 2.17 crore (21.7 million)

Polling booths: 24,648

First-time voters: 18 lakh (1.8 million)

Fact: The unpopularity of Chief Minister Hemant Soren and the problems of corruption and under-development are key issues in Jharkhand.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...