Know your state this LS poll: Gujarat

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, March 28: The Lok sabha election is set to begin on April 7 and will continue till May 12. The results will be declared on May 16. The election will see elections to 543 parliamentary seats across 28 states and seven Union territories (UT).

OneIndia brings to you the poll statistics from each state and UT of the Union.


Election date: April 30

Number of Lok Sabha constituencies: 26

Name of the constituencies: Ahmedabad East, Ahmedabad West (SC), Amreli, Anand, Banaskantha, Bardoli (ST), Bharuch, Bhavnagar, Chhota Udaipur, Dahod, Gandhinagar, Jamnagar, Junagadh, Kachchh (SC), Kheda, Mahesana, Navsari, Panchmahal, Patan, Porbandar, Rajkot, Sabarkantha, Surat, Surendranagar, Vadodara, Valsad

2009 result (seats): BJP 15, Congress 11

2009 party-wise vote-share:

Total voters this year: 4.08 crore (40.8 million)

Polling booths: 45,313

First-time voters: 9 lakh (0.9 million)

Fact: Two Congress candidate against Narendra Modi in Vadodara constituency, Narendra Ravat, withdrew his candidature and asked the party for a stronger candidate. He was replaced by senior party leader Madhusudan Mistry.

BJP patriarch Lal Krishna Advani is also contesting from Gandhinagar seat in Gujarat. He has been winning from here since 1991 (excepting 1996 when he did not contest the LS poll).

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...