Know about Phase 9 constituencies: 2009 results in West Bengal, Bihar

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, May 9: The ninth and final phase of the Lok Sabha election 2014 will be held on May 12. Forty-one constituencies in three states, namely, Bihar, West Bengal and Uttar Prdesh will go to poll in this phase.

Here is a look at the 2009 results in 17 seats in West Bengal and 6 in Bihar.

[Read: 2009 results in UP constituencies]


Constituency: 17

Tamluk: In 2009, Trinamool Congress's (TMC) Suvendu Adhikari defeated CPIU(M)'s Lakshman Chandra Seth by 1,72,958 votes (difference in vote-share was 15.1%)

Kanthi: In 2009, TMC's Sisir Kumar Adhikari defeated CPI(M)'s Prasanta Pradhan by 1,29,103 votes (difference in vote-share was 11.5%)

Ghatal: In 2009, CPI's Gurudas Dasgupta defeated TMC's Nure Alam Chowdhury by 1,47,184 votes (difference in vote-share was 12.6%)

Barrackpore: In 2009, TMC's Dinesh Trivedi defeated CPI(M)'s Tarit Baran Topdar by 56,024 votes (difference in vote-share was 6.4%)

Dum Dum: In 2009, TMC's Saugata Roy defeated CPI(M)'s Amitava Nandy by 20,478 votes (difference in vote-share was 2.1%)

Barasat: In 2009, TMC's Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar defeated All India Forward Bloc's Sudin Chattopadhyay by 1,22,901 votes (difference in vote-share was 12%)

Joynagar (SC): In 2009, Socialist Unity Centre of India's Dr Tarun Mandal defeated Revolutionary Socialist Party's (RSP) Nimai Barman by 53,705 votes (difference in vote-share was 5.9%)

Mathurapur (SC): In 2009, TMC's Choudhury Mohan Jatua defeated CPI(M)'s Animesh Naskar by 1,29,963 votes (difference in vote-share was 12.4%)

Diamond Harbour: In 2009, TMC's Somendra Nath Mitra defeated Samik Lahiri by 1,51,689 votes (difference in vote-share was14.4%)

In 2009, TMC's Kabir Suman defeated CPI(M) Sujan Chakraborty by 56,267 votes (difference in vote-share was 5.2%)

Kolkata Dakshin: In 2009, TMC's Mamata Banerjee defeated CPI(M)'s Rabin Deb by 2,19,571 votes (difference in vote-share was 21.8%). TMC's Subrata Bakshi won the seat in the by-election after Banerjee vacated it to become the chief minister of West Bengal in 2011.

Kolkata Uttar: In 2009, TMC's Sudip Bandyopadhyay defeated CPI(M)'s Md. Salim by 1,09,278 votes (difference in vote-share was 12.4%)

Krishnanagar: In 2009, TMC's Tapas Pal defeated CPI(M)'s Jyotirmoyee Sikdar by 77,386 votes (difference in vote-share was 7.4%)

Ranaghat (SC): In 2009, TMC's Sucharu Ranjan Haldar defeated Basudeb Barman by 1,01,823 votes (difference in vote-share was 8.9%)

Bangaon (SC): In 2009, TMC's Gobinda Chandra Naskar defeated CPI(M)'s Asim Bala by 92,826 votes (difference in vote-share was 8.6%)

Baharampur: In 2009, Congress's Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury defeated RSP's Pramothes Mukherjee by 1,86,977 votes (difference in vote-share was 19.6%)

Basirhat: In 2009, TMC's SK Nurul Islam defeated CPI's Ajay Chakraborty by 60,383 votes (difference in vote-share was 5.8%)

Of the 17 seats going to election on May 12, 14 were won by the Trinamool Congress while the Congress, SUCI and CPI won one each.

State: BIHAR

Constituencies: 6

Valmiki Nagar: In 2009, JD(U)'s Badiyanath Prasad Mahto defeated Fakhruddin by 1,83,675 votes (difference in vote-share was 30.7%)

Paschim Champaran: In 2009, BJP's Dr Sanjay Jaiswal defeated LJP's Prakash Jha by 47,343 votes (difference in vote-share was 9.2%)

Purvi Champaran: In 2009, BJP's Radha Mohan Singh defeated RJD's Akhilesh Prasad Singh by 79,290 votes (difference in vote-share was 16.4%)

Vaishali: In 2009, RJD's Raghuvansh Prasad Singh defeated JD(U)'s Vijay Kumar Shukla by 22,308 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.6%)

Gopalganj (SC): In 2009, JD(U)'s Purnmasi Ram defeated RJD's Anil Kumar by 42,472 votes (difference in vote-share was 8.4%)

Siwan: In 2009, Independent Om Prakash Yadav defeated RJD's Hena Shahab by 63,430 votes (difference in vote-share was 9.9%)

In Bihar, the BJP and JD(U) won 2 seats each while the RJD had won one and one was won by an Independent candidate.

Oneindia News

[With inputs from]

Please Wait while comments are loading...