Manmohan's ministers who contested polls and who backed out

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Cabinet Mins who contested & who didn't
Bangalore, May 13: A day after the exit polls projected a BJP-led NDA government in the future, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will be chairing his last Cabinet meet on Tuesday.

Singh will address the people in his farewell speech on May 17, the day when he will be demitting his office. Singh on Tuesday will also host a dinners for his officers. After the exit polls projection, here is alook at the list of Singh's Cabinet ministers who contested the Lok Sabha elections.

Singh's Cabinet Ministers (who contested the 2014 Lok Sabha elections) and their portfolios in UPA II-

Name portfolio LS Constituency
Pawan Kumar Bansal Minister of Railways Chandigarh
Sushilkumar Shinde Minister of Home Affairs Solapur SC
Salman Khurshid Minister of External Affairs Farrukhabad, UP
S Jaipal Reddy Minister of Science and Technology and Earth Sciences Mahbubnagar, Telangana
Ghulam Nabi Azad Minister of Health and Family Welfare Uddhampur, J&K
Farooq Abdullah Minister of New and Renewable Energy Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir
Veerappa Moily Minister of Petroleum Chkkaballapur, Karnakata
Ajit Singh Minister of Civil Aviation Bagpat, UP
Mallikarjun Kharge Minister of Labour and Employment Gulbarga, Karnataka
M M Pallam Raju Minister of HRD Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh
Kapil Sibal Minister of Communication and Information Technology Chandni Chowk, Delhi
Ajay Maken Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation New Delhi
Chandresh Kumari Minister of Culture Jodhpur, Rajasthan
Kamal Nath Minister of Urban Development, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Chindwara, Madhya Pradesh
Sriprakash Jaiswal Minister of Coal Kanpur, UP
Dinsha Patel Minister of Mines Kheda, Gujarat
Kishore Chandra Deo Minister of Tribal Affairs and Minister of Panchayati Raj Araku, Andhra Pradesh
Beni Prasad Verma Minister of Steel Gonda, UP
Praful Patel Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises Bhandara, Gondiya

Following are some star Cabinet Ministers who gave the elections a miss-

1. Manish Tewari- Minister of Information and Broadcasting
2. AK Antony- Minister of Defence
3. Jairam Ramesh- Minister of Rural Development
4. MK Alagiri- Former Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers
5. Harish Rawat- Minister of Water Resources
6. P Chidambaram- Finance Minister

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...