BSP polled more votes than TMC & AIADMK but yet didn't win a seat

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, May 19: Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Karunanidhi's DMK would like to forget the 2014 Lok Sabha election fast. For these, along with the National Conference, are among the major parties which have failed to win a single seat in the just-concluded parliamentary election.

The BSP was the third largest party in terms of votes (2.29 crore) and bagged 20 per cent of the vote-share in Uttar Pradesh but still couldn't open its account. Its candidates came second in over 30 seats in the state where the BJP grabbed 71 out of 80 seats this time.

BSP's arch-rival, the Samajwadi Party (SP), also fared disastrously as it could manage just five seats with a vote-share of 22.2 per cent.

The DMK bagged even a better vote-share than the BSP (24%) in Tamil Nadu but still couldn't send a single representative to the Lok Sabha. It polled over 96 lakh votes.

The BSP, DMK and National Conference failed to win a single seat in this poll

The AIADMK and the Trinamool Congress, on the other hand, swept the polls in Tamil Nadu and West Bengal, respectively. The former led by Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa won 37 out of 39 seats in the state (44% vote-share) while the latter ld by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee bagged 34 out of 42 seats (39% vote-share). In terms of votes polled, however, Banerjee (2.12 crore) had a lead over Jayalalithaa (1.81 crore).

As many as 18 political parties have got one per cent or more in this Lok Sabha election.

The BJP has polled over 17 crore votes to win 282 seats while the Congress got over 10 crore votes to manage 44 seats.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...