No Andhra: Hyderabad joint capital of Telangana, Seemandhra

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, July 30: The much awaited announcement finally has been made by Congress on Tuesday, July 30. After the meeting Congress Working Committee (CWC), Digvijay Singh along with Ajay Maken declared party's decision of giving green signal to formation of separate state of Telangana.

Singh, during a press conference in New Delhi, also informed that Hyderabad would be the joint capital of Telangana and Seemandhra for 10 years. Telangana would have 10 districts of Andhra Pradesh but the formation of the new state will take some time.


Despite BJP's demand of submitting the Telangana bill during upcoming Monsoon Session of the Parliament, the Central Government may not introduce it during the parliament session.

TRS leader KT Ramarao was quoted as saying, "The CWC clearing Telangana is a welcome decision. We will wait for the Bill to be passed in Parliament. Hyderabad can be an interim capital."

Andhra Pradesh has 42 parliamentary constituencies. The Congress might have calculated that creating Telangana would deliver strong returns in upcoming elections.

Earlier it was speculated that the Centre might add two districts from Rayalaseema to Telangana's existing 10 districts with 17 parliamentary seats. Addition of the two districts of Rayalseema region -- Anantpur and Kurnool would have ensured the new and old states have 21 parliamentary seats each.

Addressing the press, Congress General Secretary Singh said, "We have kept in mind security, water issues, liabilities, etc. All this will be considered while drafting the Bill. Modalities will be worked out for division of assets, liabilities and water resources."

"The formation of Telangana cannot be compared to demand from states. Telangana will have 10 districts. In Hyderabad, there is adequate arrangement for both states to run their affairs for next 10 years," he added.

Total 10 districts of Telangana are:

Adilabad, Karimnagar, Warangal, Khammam, Nalgonda, Hyderabad, Mahbubnagar, Rangareddy, Medak, Nizamabad.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...