• search

K'taka Polls: BPAC endorsed candidates result

Subscribe to Oneindia News
For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
    Karnataka polls
    Bangalore, May 8: It is a big day for Karnataka as the results of the Karnataka Assembly Elections 2013, will decide the fate of the state.

    A state ridden with corruption, people did come out and vote on May 5.

    In Bangalore, Bangalore Political Action Committee (BPAC), a citizen collective came together to endorse candidates who are not corrupt, in an attempt to have "clean" politicians get a chance at governance.

    After all, one cannot give up their right to vote, just because corruption exists without a check. Citizens need collectives that come forward and be that check that every government in power needs.

    To ensure that when the government gets heady with power, it can remind the very same government that it works for the betterment of its people in the state and the overall good of the nation.

    The citizenry, therefore has a larger duty, that only begins when it goes out to vote. Endorsing candidates, helps acknowledge that the candidate did work towards  the betterment of her/his constituency. It works like a pat on the back.

    These 14 have been endorsed for the work they have done for the public.

    Today, we track how these BPAC endorsed politicians fared at the elections. All 14 candidates results' out, it clearly shows that those politicians who have won are from the two major political parties - Congress and BJP. These candidates have had a good run in their respective constituencies.

    Here, the results of the BPAC endorsed candidates:

    Dr. Ashwini Mahesh Bomanhalli Lok Satta Party Lost
    Abdul Azeem Hebbal JD (S) Lost
    Dr C Ashwathnarayan Malleshwaram BJP Won
    Dr BK Chandrashekar Basvangudi INC  Lost
    BN Vijaykumar Jayanagar BJP Won
    Dinesh Gundu Rao Gandhinagar Congress Won
    C Krishna Byregowda Byataranapura Congress Won
    Dr Meenakshi Bharath Malleshwaram Lok Satta Party Lost
    Michael B Fernandes Sarvagnanagar Karnataka J P Lost
    Dr MRV Prasad Padmanabhanagar JD(S) Lost
    NL Narendra Babu Mahalakshmi Layout Congress Lost
    Shanthala Damle Basvangudi Lok Satta Party Lost
    S Suresh Kumar Rajajinagar BJP Won
    Dr Tejaswini Gowda Bangalore South INC Lost
    <blockquote class="twitter-tweet blockquote"><p>5 out of 14 B.PAC Endorsed candidates registers victory</p>— B.PAC (@BPACofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/BPACofficial/status/332075837765607425">May 8, 2013</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

    It is often said that the good politicans don't stand a chance in the dirty game that politics is, however, there is a start made, to facilitate politicians who have a corruption-less record.

    It will, however, will be really the people's decision to help  come up trumps. For now, these candidates need in spite a win or loss need to guarantee that they continue their good work.

    <blockquote class="twitter-tweet blockquote"><p>None of <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23BPAC">#BPAC</a> endorsed @<a href="https://twitter.com/loksatta_party">loksatta_party</a> are leading <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23KarnatakaElections">#KarnatakaElections</a> on the contrary fall in to ones with lowest vote shares @<a href="https://twitter.com/bpacofficial">bpacofficial</a></p>— sudheendra (@sudhee26) <a href="https://twitter.com/sudhee26/status/332049461931044864">May 8, 2013</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

    OneIndia News

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more