Karnataka Election Results: Section 144 imposed in Bangalore

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, May 8: The much awaited Karnataka assembly election results would be announced on Wednesday, May 8. However, the state capital -- Bangalore has been facing the heat of the situation.

Section 144 has been imposed in the city restricting an assembly of more than ten people in an area. Security has been beefed up citing tension among political parties.

Counting of votes began at 8 am in 36 centres in the state. Final results are expected to be declared by afternoon.

Most of the exit polls predicted that Congress would return to power. Some of these polls have put the Congress tally in the 224-member House at anywhere between 110 and 132, with the ruling BJP a distant loser; 113 seats would be required for majority.

As per the latest information till 9:35 am, Congress is leading in 69 seats, while BJP is ahead in 39 seats. Former CM BS Yeddyurappa's party -- Karnataka Janata Paksha (KJP) is leading only in 7 seats as against the JD(S) which has put a strong show with leads in 27 seats. Others are leading in 13 seats.


S Kumar Bangarrapa (Congress), CM Ibrahim (Congress), PC Mohan (BJP).

Key candidates:

Leading BS Yeddyurappa (KJP), Anitha Kumaraswamy JD(S), B Sreeramulu (BSRC), Dinesh Gundurao (Congress), HD Kumaraswamy JD(S), KS Eshwarappa (BJP), Siddaramaiah.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...