Karnataka polls: BJP releases 3rd list of candidates

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, April 15: The ruling BJP tonight released its third list with 37 candidates for the May 5 Assembly polls but still has not taken a call about three tainted MLAs, keeping the suspense factor alive.

The BJP had announced its first list of 140 candidates on April 5 and subsequently released a set of 35 nominees. With Monday's 37, it has named candidates in 212 segments.

It's yet to name the candidates in the remaining 12 constituencies - Karnataka Assembly has a total of 224 seats - including Hebbal, Malur and KGF, represented by tainted MLAs Katta Subramanya Naidu, S N Krishnaiah Setty and Y Sampangi, respectively.

There has been intense speculation in recent days on whether the party would give tickets to the trio.

The last day of filing for nominations is April 17.

As per the third list, Tourism Minister Anand Singh will seek re-election from Vijayanagara in Bellary district. Singh has done a U-turn as he had said earlier this month that he would contest as an independent.

Bangalore Mayor D Venkatesha Murthy is contesting from Shantinagar segment in the city.


Please Wait while comments are loading...