Karnataka results: One vote wins due to multi-corner poll

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Jagadish Shettar
Bangalore, March 11: They were local polls but fought for high stakes as political parties want to garner mileage and consolidate their base before the assembly elections. In this Karnataka Urban Local Bodies election results, there were many surprises as the outcome was declared today.

As many as 28 candidates have won by small margin, many by just one vote, highlighting the fierce and multi-cornered contest.

The Janata Dal (S), which has done a sort of a comeback on the political landscape, scrapped through in eight constituencies with one vote win in Yelburga (Vijaykumar K) to 31 votes victory in Hasan (Srividya) district.

The Congress has done very well by its standards and its candidates also went past the winning line by respectable nine votes in Mahalingpur (Rangappa Halli) to 23 votes win in Harpanhalli (Arunkumar).

In case of the ruling BJP, the party had to get a seat by mere two votes in Virajpet (PK Sarita) in Madikeri district.
In three wards, the independent candidates have won by single digits and it speaks for the hold those candidates have over their voters.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...