Tripura polls on Feb 14, Meghalaya and Nagaland on Feb 23

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Election Commission
New Delhi, Jan 11: The Election Commission has announced the dates on which Tripura, Nagaland and Meghalaya will go to the polls.

Voters in Tripura will exercise their franchise on Feb 14. Assembly elections in Meghalaya and Nagaland will be held on Feb 23.

Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath said here today that by-polls will also be held on Feb 24 in seven states.

The Chandgad constituency in Maharashtra, Kalyanpur constituency in Bihar, Bhatpar constituency in Uttar Pradesh, Moga constituency in Punjab, Algapur constituency in Assam and Chalfih constituency in Mizoram will witness polling on that day as will English Bazar, Rejinagar and Nalhati Birbhum constituencies in West Bengal.

In Tripura, the date of notification of elections is Jan 21. Candidates can file nominations till Jan 28. Their papers will be scrutinised on Jan 29. Anyone can withdraw his nomination by Jan 31. The votes polled in the state will be counted on Feb 28.

As far as Meghalaya and Nagaland are concerned, the corresponding dates are: Notification: Jan 30; the last day for filing nominations is Feb 6; scrutiny of papers: Feb 7; last day of withdrawal of nominations: Feb 9; and counting is on Feb 28.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...