163 MLA aspirants never filed IT Returns in Himachal

By: Arvind Sharma
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Income Tax
Dharamsala, Oct 28: Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) and Himachal Pradesh Election Watch (HPEW), the Himachal Pradesh chapter of National Election Watch (NEW), analyzed affidavits of 445 candidates contesting in the Himachal Pradesh 2012 Assembly Elections and released the new out comings after analyzing Income Tax Return of the Candidates of the upcoming assembly elections in Himachal

A total of 163 candidates (37%) out of the 445 candidates analyzed by the Himachal Pradesh Election Watch have declared that they have never filed income tax returns. BSP has 40 (65%) out of 62 candidates, BJP has 11 (16%) out of 68 candidates, HLP has 13 (41%) out of 32 candidates and AITC has 11 (42%) out of 26 candidates, and INC has 2(3%) out of 68 candidates who have not filed IT Returns.

Where as it is obsereved that Balbir Singh Verma, an independent from Chopal constituency has declared the highest income of Rs. 1.41 Crores in his last Income Tax return. He is followed by G.S. Bali (INC) from Nagrota constituency and has declared income of Rs. 1.12 Crores in his last ITR, and Sanjay Kumar Guleria, an independent from Jawali constituency who has declared income of Rs. 62.99 Lacs as per his last filed Income Tax Returns.

In the category of High Assets but no IT Return the Top 3 candidates are Rakesh Singh of CPM contesting from Theog with total assets of Rs. 17.28 crores. He is followed by Vijay Jayoti an independent from Kasumpti with assets of Rs. 7.23 crores and Tikender Panwar of CPM from Shimla with Rs. 3.05 crores respectively. Ms Abha Bhaiya of Himachal Pradesh Election Watch and ADR said that the organization appeal to the voters of Himachal Pradesh to know what their candidates write in their affidavits so that they can make an informed choice on 4h November 2012 before casting their vote.

Please Wait while comments are loading...