Counting underway for Tehri, Jangipur by-elections

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Dehradun/Kolkata, Oct 13: Counting was underway for the bypolls held in Tehri and Jangipur Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal and Uttarakhand, respectively, on Saturday.

About 45 per cent of the voters cast their ballots in the Tehri by-election where Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna's son and Congress candidate Saket contested against BJP's Mala Raj Laxmi Shah, a member of the erstwhile Tehri royal family. The by-election here necessitated after the Chief Minister resigned from the seat following his victory from Sitarganj Assembly constituency.

The by-poll in Jangipur in Bengal's Murshidabad district saw a turnout of around 57 per cent. Here, the son of President Pranab Mukherjee and Nalhati MLA, Abhijit Mukherjee, contested against 11 candidates including CPI(M)'s Muzaffar Hussain and BJP's Sudhangshu Biswas.

The ruling party, Trinamool Congress, did not field any candidate. Abhijit was leading at the end of the fourth round of counting.

Both the elections took place on Wednesday.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...