Karnataka govt declares 19 more taluks as drought-hit

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Farmers Seeing Sky
Bangalore, Jul 29: The Karnataka government declared 19 more taluks in the state as drought-hit on Saturday. This takes the total number of taluks hit by the drought to 142. The latest taluks declared to be drought-hit fall under Shimoga, Chikmaglur, Mysore, Bengaluru and Belgaum districts, areas which are known to receive decent showers.

The 19 taluks which were declared as drought prone are Anekal, Bangalore Rural, Bangalore South, Bangalore East, Hoskote, Malur, Nelamangala, Channagiri, Harihara, H D Kote, Ramanagar, Hunsur, Bhadravathi, Shimoga, Gokak, Tarikere, Shikaripura, Channagiri and Alur, an official source said at the state capital.

Earlier this weak, the state government had announced a Rs 3,500-crore package for waiving farm loans upto Rs 25,000 to give relief to farmers struggling under the worst drought conditions the state has faced in four decades.

OneIndia News

(With PTI inputs)

Please Wait while comments are loading...